2022 Boys U16 League Best & Fairest

1 year ago

The dynamic duo of Footscray share the U16 Boys League Best & Fairest honours.

What a conclusion we had in the U16 Boys competition! Footscray’s gifted juniors, Angus Fluker and Janitha Dharmabandu, have been crowned joint winners of the 2022 U16 Boys Best & Fairest award.

Aside from their immense talent, both young men demonstrated their leadership qualities throughought the season, leading their junior team to the premiership over Camberwell. Additionally, Angus was selected in Footscray’s State League team whilst Janitha was selected in the Division 2 team - both teams went on to win their respective premiership titles… an unbelievable achievement for these skillful juniors.

A long stick midfielder, Angus only knows one pace and that is full throttle. The team orientated player only concerns himself with what is best for his peers. Angus was selected in the U18 Victoria Squad that toured Adelaide earlier in the year as a bottom age player and is decribed as one of the toughest players for his age who can do it on both ends, scoring 18 goals and notching up 12 assists of his own.

If you want to see the personification of natural skill and ability look no further than Janitha. Reasonably small in stature, Janitha makes everything look effortless and will run all day… a defender’s worst nightmare. The courageous midfielder is consistently targeted by opposing clubs yet never seems to be deterred from launching himself at the next contest. Janitha accumulated an impressive 38 goals and 28 assists in his 15 games.

Both young men had tremendous seasons where the Best & Fairest was still up for grabs up until the final round.

Congratulations Angus and Janitha on terrific 2022 seasons!

Pos First Last Club Votes
1 Angus Fluker Footscray 21
1 Janitha Dharmabandu Footscray 21
3 Orlando Raffaelli Camberwell 13
4 Ryland Prinsloo Williamstown 10
5 Blake Radford Williamstown 9
6 Frederick Richards Camberwell 7
6 Andrew Balzat-Fuller Camberwell 7
8 Angus Leslie Camberwell 6
8 Alexander Hadaway Camberwell 6
8 Joshua Gordon Williamstown 6
11 Samuel Boyd Bruns/MU 5
11 Ben Rogan Camberwell 5
11 Kye Mcclaharty Camberwell 5
11 Cooper Pecora Footscray 5
11 Sebastian Dabner Williamstown 5
16 James Harders Bruns/Mu 4
16 Nikita Dalinkiewicz Camberwell 4
16 Lachlan Stephenson Williamstown 4
16 Oliver Russell Williamstown 4
17 Conrad Kuat Bruns/Mu 3

More articles