Rage wins Read Cup for 2017

2017 Victorian Box Lacrosse League Champions - Rage
2017 Victorian Box Lacrosse League Champions - Rage  

The 2017 Victorian Box Lacrosse League grand final was run and won last Wednesday night with the Rage being presented the “Read Cup” as champions for 2017 with a thrilling overtime win against the Thunder.

In what was a very hot and humid evening the grand final match didn’t disappoint with the rage scoring early on only to be matched by the Thunder attack with Oliver Casey and Will Murphy scoring one goal each to even the scoring at two goals apiece at quarter time.

It was a tough second quarter for both teams with both defences holding firm and with the ball moving back and forth down the court only one solitary goal was scored, again by Will Murphy from the Thunder, to give them a one goal lead heading into Half time.

After a much needed half time break for both teams due to the hot and humid conditions it was the Rage who struck first in the second half thanks to the first of three goals from Chris Plumb. They didn’t stop there however and looked to take control of the match scoring two more times through Matthew Harvey and Jeff Melsopp to take the score back to even at 5 – 5  at the end of the third quarter.

The Thunder were determined to take the game away from the Rage in the last quarter as both teams battled fatigue and that’s exactly what they did with Oliver Casey scoring two of his three goals in the quarter that counted to send the Thunder two goals up and in range of box lacrosse glory with just six minutes remaining in the match.

Enter the Rage! With only a minute left on the clock Chris Plumb weaved his magic with the help of Marty Hyde to stun the thunder and cut the lead to one goal. Then came the stunner from Matthew Harvey with only seconds left on the clock, ably assisted by Chris Moffat, Harvey was able to break free  and score the equaliser with only seconds left on the clock sending the crowd into disbelief and the game into overtime.

With both teams exhausted and out on their feet they took the court for another gruelling six minutes of overtime until the golden goal was scored by non other than Chris plumb. Plumb who scored a hat-trick on the night was able to break the deadlock and score and 8-7 overtime victory for the Rage.

At the end of the night it was glory and the “Read Cup” for the Rage and commiserations for the Thunder but both teams fought valiantly until the end with Oliver Casey and Will Murphy best for the Thunder team scoring six out of the teams 7 goals with Chris Plumb for his hat-trick and Matt Harvey for his two goals and solid defence being the best for the Rage.

In the early game it was the Storm who shocked the Fury running away for their first win of the season 10-6.


Your comments

Connect With LV

Check the latest FIXTURES and RESULTS now!CONTACT US with your questions and feedback - we'd love to hear from you!SUBSCRIBE to the mailing list to keep up with the latest news from Lacrosse Victoria!