20th Anniversary of Australia's Under 19 World Championship Win

1995 Australian U19 Women's Team
1995 Australian U19 Women's Team  

The 13th August 2015 marked 20 years since the 1995 Under 19 Australian Women's Lacrosse Team beat the USA 5-4 to win the Gold Medal at the inaugural International Federation of Women's Lacrosse Associations (IFWLA) Under 19 World Championship.

The twenty member team flew to LA where they spent a couple of days getting over jet lag, acclimatising, training and taking in the local sights before travelling to the fantastic facilities of Haverford College, Pennsylvania - venue for the World Championship. Being the first Under 19 Women's World Championship held, it was a new experience to everyone there and the US did a great job in ensuring that events and the facilities saw plenty of interaction between the teams which helped to forge the strong bond in the Aussie camp. The week of competition saw very hot weather but the girls adapted well and only lost one game to the USA during the round robin games.

The very small but loyal and loud group of Aussie supporters certainly made their share of noise in the stands and hosted a fantastic Aussie barby the night before the final game. The recollection of a small group of thirty something Aussies going crazy in the middle of the field at the end of the final game will be an everlasting memory.

Team members were:


Lauri Carroll

Sue Comeadow

Fiona Graham

Meghan Mollison

Chelsea Morley (Vice Captain)

Felicity Porter

Sue Gandy - Manager

Karen Spreadborough - Physio

Leanne Trainor - Assistant Coach


Jenni Adams

Trish Adams (Captain)

Sarah Aston

Leah Barnden

Jodie Huppatz

Jill Pearson

Emma Rennie

Melissa William

Cathy Flett - Coach


Tanya Broom

Kellie Morley

Also travelling with the team was Janet Jackson (Technical Delegate), Kris Palmer and Dierdre Owen (Umpires) and Fiona Clark (AWLC President).


Your comments