Rage Victorious in Read Cup Final

2014 Read Cup Winners - Team Rage
2014 Read Cup Winners - Team Rage  

Having tied their previous match 13 a piece in their last meeting just 2 weeks prior hopes were high for a similar result in the final.

With scores tied at 5 goals each at the end of the first period another classic appeared to be in the offing.

However a run of 5 unanswered goals by the Rage early in the second period threatened to open the game up before a late flurry from the Fury left the game in the balance at 11 - 8 at the final break.

The Fury threw everything into a final onslaught, however the more disciplined Rage team would not be denied and ran out 19 -12 winners and in doing so secured their first Read Cup and the title of Victorian Champions.

Daniel Mentiplay (5 goals) and Robert King (3) led the scoring for the Rage whilst Caleb Hall (4) led the way for the Fury.

In the earlier match last season premiers the Storm took on the Thunder in the 3rd v 4th play-off.

The contest was tight all night with the Storm holding off the Thunder for an 11 - 8 victory.

Caleb Hall (4) and Keith Nyberg (3) headed the scoring for the victors with Travis Croll and Anthony Giobbe shooting 3 each for the Thunder.  


Your comments

Connect With LV

Check the latest FIXTURES and RESULTS now!CONTACT US with your questions and feedback - we'd love to hear from you!SUBSCRIBE to the mailing list to keep up with the latest news from Lacrosse Victoria!