MCC Lacrosse Legend Ken Nichols Honoured

Hilsberg V Nichols
Hilsberg V Nichols  
Ken Nichols, Australian Team
Ken Nichols, Australian Team  

The award was established in 1981 to recognise outstanding service by players and administrators to the senior sections of the club celebrating its 175th year.

Regarded by many as the best player ever produced by the MCC, Ken’s contribution to Lacrosse began when he walked through the doors of the club as a 9 year old player and continues to this day.

His career has gone on to encompass over 50 years service as a player, coach and administrator for the MCC, Victoria and Australia.

His long, and outstanding list of achievements include:

  • 273 1st games for MCC
  • 15 times MCC Fairest and Best (juniors and seniors)
  • MCC senior Captain 11 years
  • MCC Senior coach 7 years (incl 2005 Premiership)
  • Represented Australia at 4 x World Championships
  • Australian Lacrosse Captain 1984 and 1986
  • Victorian Lacrosse captain 1984-85 and 1987-89
  • Twice Lacrosse Victoria Best and Fairest 1986 and 1988
  • Australian Assistant Coach at 4 x World Championships
  • MCC Section Committee Member for over 20 years

Ken continues to contribute to the MCC Lacrosse Club through his work in the Junior Development area as the club’s Junior Development Co-ordinator.

Ken joins MCC Lacrosse stalwarts Bill Gray, Allan Barnford, Bill Stahmer and Bob Crawford as previous winners of the award.

Lacrosse Victoria and the wider Lacrosse community would like to congratulate Ken on this wonderful and well deserved honour.

To find out more about the Hans Ebeling Award please visit


Your comments

Connect With LV

Check the latest FIXTURES and RESULTS now!CONTACT US with your questions and feedback - we'd love to hear from you!SUBSCRIBE to the mailing list to keep up with the latest news from Lacrosse Victoria!