Lacrosse Victoria Season 2011 Awards



Mens State League best and fairest votes 2011
Mens & junior boys best and fairest awards 2011
Womens best and fairest votes 2011

After what has been a fantastic year in Victorian Lacrosse the season officially drew to a close with the Annual Lacrosse Victoria Awards being presented at Melbourne Sports and Aquatic Centre with special guest Olympian Jackie Cooper speaking to the appreciative crowd. This year we have seen the Men's State team, led by Glenn Meredith, win an historic 5th National Championship in a row. The State Under 19 team coached by Eric Jenney take out the third consecutive National Championship, a large contingent of Victorian's represent the Under 19 Women's team who won a Silver and the Australian Indoor Lacrosse Team in Prague who fought valiantly against the vast experience of the North Americans. Locally seven different clubs win a premiership across the grades and ages in Men's and Women's competition.

The LV awards are a way of recognising the tremendous efforts of all of the players, officials and clubs througout the season and highlighting those who have excelled and made a special contribution to the betterment of lacrosse in Victoria.

Men's Awards

In the Boys Under 16 ranks it was Williamstown's Noah Jenney who took out the Best and Fairest award with 32 votes, 10 votes in front of another Williamstown player in left handed attackman Alex Pike and in equal third position on 20 votes was exciting Footscray pair Tommy Mollison and Xavier Fiorentini Rounding out the top five was Mitch Wilkinson from the Moreland Lacrosse Club. Jenney is a powerfully built midfielder who looks to have a big future ahead of him as do all of the top. Congratulations all.

The Under 18 Boys award went to Eltham's Liam Kennedy on 14 votes, just one in front of  Chadstone's Harrison Reed, MHS' Taylor Ryan  and another Eltham Panther in Cameron Wallace. Just one  vote behind them was James Crooks, also of Eltham. From the looks of things Eltham may be rebuilding from the ground up!

Mitch Wilkinson of Moreland again featured but this time in Division Three by taking out the league Best and Fairest. It's a monumental effort to play two games a day at such a young age and to obviously dominate at both grades. Well done Mitch.

The Division Two Best and Fairest went down to the wire with a two-way split between Eltham's Brendan Freeman and Malvern face-off and Australian Indoor player Pat McGrath-Campbell. Up and coming Chadstone Under 18 Goalkeeper Jarryd Lee, who starred in the United States recruiting camps this year was close behind.

Division One was taken out by Daniel Jennings. Jennings, a verteran of the Williamstown attack line known for his rocket outside shot won the J.L. Beattie Trophy comfortably despite playing more than half of the season in State League, a superb effort from a true champion of the sport. The ever dependable Damien 'Mini' Cliffe came in runner-up and Dave Carter of Melbourne Uni came in third.

In Men's State League it was again a familiar face with Australian team face-off and Caulfield legend Rob Stark taking out the V.P. Healy Memorial Cup. Rob had another outstanding season with 41 goals and 14 assists in a high scoring Caulfield team. The top five was a mix of old and new faces with Surrey's Grand Final hero American player and English national team player Evan Roberts tieing for second with another American David Gal of Malvern and Footscray midfielder Chris Plumb. One vote behind them were tenacious Williamstown face-off Joel Williams and silky MCC attackman Marty Hyde.

See the full list: Mens State League best and fairest votes 2011, Mens & junior boys best and fairest awards 2011

Women's Awards

In the Lacrosse Victoria women's competition there were three trophy winners to be decided. In the B Grade Best and Fairest Altona was proudly represented as the award went to the A's Shana Kukucka of just in front of Hayley Carlson of Surrey Park and Kaitlin Hughes of Altona.

The A Grade B&F- the Jackson Memorial Trophy - was secured by Footscray's Dierdre Kelly just ahead of Verity Clough of Chadstone and Tara Healy of Caulfield.

In Women's State League it was former Penn State University and Australian team star, Hayley Sofarnos of Newport who won the Jeannie Matthews Perpetual Trophy. Hayley, with a massive 49 goals from 16 games this seaon pipped teammate Rachel Kircheimer and Footscray's Abbie Burgess for the coveted award. In equal fourth were Williamstown's Melissa Hadden and Newport's Lyndsey Paton.

The awards night did not finish there as the end of season celebration is not just for our star players to be recognised. On the night we also paid homage to some dedicated individuals who work to keep players on the field and keep our sport alive.

See the full list: Womens best and fairest votes 2011

Coach of the Year

This year Malvern's Glenn Meredith was awarded the Coach of the Year Award. As well as coaching a fast finishing Malvern to 5th place in State League the award is just recognition for 'Rubber' Meredith as he coached the Victorian Senior Men's team to an improbable 5th Australian Championship in a row. Meredith has had a hand in all of the 5 teams as either head or assistant coach.

Official of the Year

Our referees do not get the praise that they deserve and this year LV congratulated Graham 'Dixie' Bell for his efforts in the Zebra Costume.

The Past Presidents Award

The Past Presidents Award is given to the recipient in recognition of that person's dedication to the sport on and off the field. Rob Speakman, current President of the Williamstown Men's Lacrosse Club was recognised as a true servant of the sport. Rob has been President of Williamstown for ten years running after having served on the VLA committee and as Secretary and Treasurer of Williamstown. Rob is one of the people who has given far more of his life to lacrosse than can be expected of one person and fully deserves to be recognised.

Club of the Year

Despite missing out on senior flags this season Footscray Lacrosse Club, in its 50th season had a very memorable and successful season. With a growing and dominant junior program in both men's and women's lacrosse replete with future stars of the sport Footscray is showing what a bit of hard work can achieve on and off the field. The award recognises all the hard work that people at Footscray put in far away from the action on the field and the club should be applauded for the leaps and bound it has taken in recent seasons across all levels of play and administration.


Your comments